[ Index | QSL Info | The Shack | About Me | Links | Manuals | Blog ]

About Me

I've had a lifelong interest in ham radio, but it wasn't until November 1997 that I decided to sit for my Technician license. I was in the Army and stationed at Fort Hood, Texas, when I decided to study to get my license. After earning the system-assigned callsign KD5COL, I really didn't do too much with my license. I was given a new Yaesu FT-2800M as a present and had it in my computer room in the early 2000s (I didn't own a car then). I didn't do much else on the air until 2008 when I decided to upgrade to my General license.

I then got on the air a little bit until I moved to Tennessee in January 2009. I was able to get a proper shack set up and built my first real antenna, a G5RV Junior. That little antenna has served me very well. I had a new ICOM IC-718 but had to sell it. I later bought an ICOM IC-735 and an ICOM IC-706MKII. I've traded off the IC-735 but still have the 706 and I still use my original G5RV Junior antenna.

I enjoy working SSB on 12, 15, 17, and 20 meters currently. I chase DX and sometimes I am DX depending on my mood. I like collecting paper (receiving QSL cards and certificates) from special event stations. I am an avid shortwave listener when I am not actively on the air. I'd like to learn CW one of these days.

I really like providing public communications, such as races, parades, and the like. I'm also a member of the Washington County (TN) ARES group.

Occasionally, I like to pack up my little station and head out into the Appalachian Mountains to operate when I get a chance.

I enjoy building my own antennas, mainly wire ones, and experimenting with them.

I do keep a blog of my on-air activities and my ham radio hobby in general.

SSB (voice) is my favorite mode. I do have a Signalink for the 706 but digital modes just don't interest me much. I'd like to learn CW one of these days when I have time. Upgrading to my Extra class license is something I need to do also.

Besides ham radio, I enjoy computer programming, running my bulletin board system (BBS), cooking, baking, reading, hiking, "shadetree" mechanics, listening to music, and going for drives out in the woods with my four-wheel-drive SUV.

Back to the top of the page

© Sean Dennis KD5COL.  All rights reserved.  Questions or comments?  Contact me.
About this website