[GreenKeys] spammer?

gil smith [email protected]
Wed, 01 May 2002 09:40:01 -0700


At 11:53 AM 5/1/02 -0400, you wrote:
>Hi Gil
>  I'm quite sure that Joe Lisuzzo is not a spammer!
>Since he gave us his FCC license Call Sign of KR9B I looked him
>up in the FCC listings. There he is listed as 
>    Joseph G. Lisuzzo
>    9535 Franklin Ave., Apt 509
>    Franklin Park, IL 60131
>   
>    He lives in Cook county and has been licensed since 9/12/95
>    His call letters indicate that he is undoubtedly an Extra Class
>    licensee so I would think he is pretty legitimate.
>    If he were anything like a spammer he would not be putting out
>    access to this much information.
>
>    I would say that he apparently is just new or not yet
>comfortable with the internet stuff! His comments don't look
>very abusive to me. I think he is just a bit unfamiliar with all
>of this. You may frighten him away by cutting him off. Anyone
>who divulges his FCC call sign is certainly not trying to hide!!
>    I don't really understand what you mean by excessive bounces.
>What bounced?
>    John Sheetz, K2AGI in Murray Hill, New Jersey

Hi John:

Well, perhaps I'm over-reacting, since spam seems to be accellerating in
the last year, and I think mail lists are a prime source of our addresses.
I never thought to check his call sign, though it would be easy enough for
a spammer to set up a hotmail account in any old name.

I didn't remove him, the Mailman system automatically removes accounts that
seem invalid, when postings bounce back too many times.  I'm just watching
the traffic, and his postings seemed odd -- no questions, info about
himself, or anything typical.  Just a bunch of thank-you/your-pal stuff.
Then he bounced off.

If he is legit, I owe him an apology (though he is off the list at the
moment).  But my gut feeling still stands on this one.  And I'm sure tired
of spam.

gil


;-----------------------------------------------------------
;  vaux electronics, inc.             480-354-5556   
;  http://www.vauxelectronics.com     (fax: 480-354-5558)
;-----------------------------------------------------------