[GreenKeys] phishing
Kevin H. Phillips
kh-phillips at 9-5usa.org
Fri Jul 30 15:39:00 EDT 2021
Guys (and Gals),
I work in an environment that is keen on computer, and personal,
information security. Anytime there is a suspected phishing attempt it
is called out and employees are alerted. As the saying goes:
forewarned is forearmed, or something like that. There were a number of
things about this incident which raised flags in my mind. One being
that the eBay listing for the T1000 completely disappeared soon after I
e-mailed the seller. It wasn't that the auction ended because the
machine was sold, it was as if the auction never existed. I just did a
search for recent completed auctions and it doesn't show up. I have
seen a similar thing happen lately with high-dollar camera equipment.
The person who joined GreenKeys apparently seeking information about a
defective T1000 called herself Alice. The person who called me soon
after I sent "Alice" my phone number allowing her to call me to talk
about the T1000 called herself Alice. I wonder what are the odds on
those being two completely different and unrelated people? According to
the e-mails Paul forwarded, the person was not sure that the machine she
had was the one on eBay. That seems like an easy one to answer: was it
or was it not one that was recently listed on eBay? She also expressed
a willingness to sell the machine but only "on a closed channel."
Everyone here is used to trusting other GreenKeyers and hams in
particular. A few years ago I was scammed out of $1100 by another ham,
of all people, when I tried to buy something from the QRZ Classifieds.
Law enforcement wouldn't do anything about it, probably because it
happens so often and it was "small potatoes" in their book. I am taking
the stance that this was a scam; an extremely elaborate, clever, and
"ingenious" one from a certain perspective. All I'll say is that you
ignore these things to your own peril.
73
Kevin
W5TTY
On 7/30/2021 10:10 AM, Nick England wrote:
> C’mon guys. If Alice was legitimate you’ve probably driven her away.
> If a phisher, just ignore and get on with teletypery.
> My 0.001 cents worth.
> Nick
>
> --
> Nick England K4NYW
> www.navy-radio.com <http://www.navy-radio.com>
>
> ______________________________________________________________
> GreenKeys mailing list
> Home: http://mailman.qth.net/mailman/listinfo/greenkeys
> Help: http://mailman.qth.net/mmfaq.htm
> Post: mailto:GreenKeys at mailman.qth.net
>
>>>> Jordan Spencer Cunningham's GreenKeys Search Tool: https://teletype.net/gksearch
>>>> 2002-to-present greenkeys archive: http://mailman.qth.net/pipermail/greenkeys/
>>>> 1998-to-2001 greenkeys archive: http://mailman.qth.net/archive/greenkeys/greenkeys.html
>>>> Randy Guttery's 2001-to-2009 GreenKeys Search Tool: http://comcents.com/tty/greenkeyssearch.html
> This list hosted by: http://www.qsl.net
> Please help support this email list: http://www.qsl.net/donate.html
> Message delivered to kh-phillips at 9-5usa.org
--
This email has been checked for viruses by AVG.
https://www.avg.com
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://mailman.qth.net/pipermail/greenkeys/attachments/20210730/331de599/attachment.html>
More information about the GreenKeys
mailing list